QB drops back to pass and is hit. The ball comes out but the Referee rules forward progress stopped. Is the correct? Should the Referee rule this or leave it to the line of scrimmage officials?
5 Comments
Paul Tanzillo
on April 21, 2025 at 7:21 pm
Not sure the R was signaling forward progress or that the ground caused the ball the fumble. The short wing at the top looked like he was coming in to get the spot.
That the ground cannot cause a fumble is not a thing in HS. The down ends (the ball becomes dead by rule – by some part of the runner’s person (body) other than his hand or foot touches the ground. In this case, his leg touches the ground before the fumble. The ground CAN cause a fumble if at the time the ball hits the ground (most often being held in the runner’s hand), no part of the runner’s person – excepting the hand or foot – is touching the ground. The ball is not dead and the down has not ended. We had this happen when a player was upended (flipped) by a legal hit and while inverted in the air the ball in his hand hit the ground and he lost possession. This can also happen when a player is diving forward for extra yardage and the ball hits the ground and the player loses possession while no other part of his body is touching the ground. Good call ending the down in my opinion.
The QB is the referees key especially once he is threatened. LOS officials should be with their keys at this time since it happens so fast. Forward progress is stopped. No cheap turnovers.
Looks like knee was down before ball flew out. I agree with no cheap turnovers but MIBT and R sells it very well! Also want to talk to #44 white as he is getting close to a suplex move. Announcer even comments ‘wrestled down’…
Not sure the R was signaling forward progress or that the ground caused the ball the fumble. The short wing at the top looked like he was coming in to get the spot.
That the ground cannot cause a fumble is not a thing in HS. The down ends (the ball becomes dead by rule – by some part of the runner’s person (body) other than his hand or foot touches the ground. In this case, his leg touches the ground before the fumble. The ground CAN cause a fumble if at the time the ball hits the ground (most often being held in the runner’s hand), no part of the runner’s person – excepting the hand or foot – is touching the ground. The ball is not dead and the down has not ended. We had this happen when a player was upended (flipped) by a legal hit and while inverted in the air the ball in his hand hit the ground and he lost possession. This can also happen when a player is diving forward for extra yardage and the ball hits the ground and the player loses possession while no other part of his body is touching the ground. Good call ending the down in my opinion.
The QB is the referees key especially once he is threatened. LOS officials should be with their keys at this time since it happens so fast. Forward progress is stopped. No cheap turnovers.
Sounds like solid philosophy!
Looks like knee was down before ball flew out. I agree with no cheap turnovers but MIBT and R sells it very well! Also want to talk to #44 white as he is getting close to a suplex move. Announcer even comments ‘wrestled down’…